Dual mono or separate transformers for input- and outputstage?

All general audio posts go here.
User avatar
Ithilstone
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:54 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Seychelles

Re: Dual mono or separate transformers for input- and outputstage?

Unread post by Ithilstone »

Geoff.R.G wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:03 pm

The Phono3 has separate PSUs, 3,
4... :mrgreen:
Nothing to see here...

Hannes-Gregor
Posts: 1666
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 10:40 am
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Germany

Re: Dual mono or separate transformers for input- and outputstage?

Unread post by Hannes-Gregor »

Congratulations, nice new avatar. Who was the artist?
These users thanked the author Hannes-Gregor for the post:
Ithilstone (Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:21 pm)

Geoff.R.G
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 2:46 pm
Location: Denham UK
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Great Britain

Re: Dual mono or separate transformers for input- and outputstage?

Unread post by Geoff.R.G »

Ithilstone wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:18 pm
Geoff.R.G wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:03 pm

The Phono3 has separate PSUs, 3,
4... :mrgreen:
Fair enough, doesn't change the fact that there is one per gain stage.

User avatar
Ithilstone
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:54 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Seychelles

Re: Dual mono or separate transformers for input- and outputstage?

Unread post by Ithilstone »

Geoff.R.G wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:22 pm
Ithilstone wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:18 pm
Geoff.R.G wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:03 pm

The Phono3 has separate PSUs, 3,
4... :mrgreen:
Fair enough, doesn't change the fact that there is one per gain stage.
Absolutely!
Nothing to see here...

User avatar
Ithilstone
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:54 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Seychelles

Re: Dual mono or separate transformers for input- and outputstage?

Unread post by Ithilstone »

Hannes-Gregor wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:19 pm
Congratulations, nice new avatar. Who was the artist?
Thank you - I rather like it myself ;] (need better scan though)
Artist is a member of this forum - can you guess?
little tip he is also responsible for new drawing on NVA page :mrgreen:
These users thanked the author Ithilstone for the post:
Hannes-Gregor (Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:26 pm)
Nothing to see here...

Hannes-Gregor
Posts: 1666
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 10:40 am
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Germany

Re: Dual mono or separate transformers for input- and outputstage?

Unread post by Hannes-Gregor »

Well done, DocFoster!
These users thanked the author Hannes-Gregor for the post (total 2):
Ithilstone (Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:59 pm) • Docfoster (Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:38 pm)

Daniel Quinn
Posts: 7904
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:16 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: Dual mono or separate transformers for input- and outputstage?

Unread post by Daniel Quinn »

30v is the power. I swapped it for 160v and it was a revelation.

The phono 2 deos not use phono 1 transformer.

User avatar
Ithilstone
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:54 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Seychelles

Re: Dual mono or separate transformers for input- and outputstage?

Unread post by Ithilstone »

Daniel Quinn wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 12:11 pm
30v is the power. I swapped it for 160v and it was a revelation.

The phono 2 deos not use phono 1 transformer.
I think by 30v you mean 30va... then it would make more sense and would change meaning of your earlier post
Nothing to see here...

Daniel Quinn
Posts: 7904
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:16 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: Dual mono or separate transformers for input- and outputstage?

Unread post by Daniel Quinn »

You should know by now you are required to use a lot of intelligence to decipher my posts. 😉

Lurcher300b
Posts: 910
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 1:58 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Dual mono or separate transformers for input- and outputstage?

Unread post by Lurcher300b »

Thus, although the current may not be large a high capacity PSU is required to prevent throttling (basically what is going on in the Phono 3)
Just think about that for a moment. The current is not being supplied from the transformers, but from the caps, the transformer then tops the caps up 100 times a second. The variation in current draw from the load will govern how much the capacitor discharges in each 100th of a second.

Not sure exactly what "throttling" means in this context (low load on the supply).

In the case of the power output stage then again the size of the cap and the output the load requires controls how much it is discharged. The size of the transformer controls how fast the cap is charges up, and if the transformer can't supply enough current in each 100th of a second to replace what the load draws in that time (and draws while its charging the cap), the the power supply will not get back to full voltage and will sag. But that should never happen with a load in the low ma range.

Post Reply