Doc modding Marantz imperial 7

A place for DIY project discussions.
Forum rules
1. No ad-hominem
2. No spamming or shilling
User avatar
Latteman
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:20 pm
Location: S. Yorkshire
Great Britain

Re: Doc modding Marantz imperial 7

Unread post by Latteman » Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:50 pm

I added the speaker connection to the base of my cubes- this helps with the inflexible Nva cable especially close to walls and also lets it hang behind the support almost hidden- if yours are floor based then all connections in at the base and cables run along the floor???
RIP Doc
Analogue Source-
ARB Turntable & 10” dual pivot arm, Grado Reference Prestige 1 MI
Funk Firm Vector V, Acos modified tonearm, Grado Gold Prestige MI
Nva Phono 1 (external psu)
Digital Sources- Denon CEOL Piccolo, iPhone 6s
Amplification-NVA P50, A20 (x2), A60
Speakers- Diy BBCubes on Nva Stands;
Ls6, Ls5; SSP
Mini BMU

User avatar
karatestu
Posts: 1641
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 4:40 pm
Location: North Yorkshire
Great Britain

Re: Doc modding Marantz imperial 7

Unread post by karatestu » Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:51 pm

Yes they are LS6 and black
Naim, Linn & Harbeth fanboy

Daniel Quinn
Posts: 7521
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:16 am
Wales

Re: Doc modding Marantz imperial 7

Unread post by Daniel Quinn » Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:55 pm

I changed it for white to blend in.

User avatar
Ithilstone
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:54 am
Swaziland

Re: Doc modding Marantz imperial 7

Unread post by Ithilstone » Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:59 pm

karatestu wrote:
Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:51 pm
Yes they are LS6 and black
Just get sleeving in any colour you like from aliexpress
Nothing to see here...

User avatar
karatestu
Posts: 1641
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 4:40 pm
Location: North Yorkshire
Great Britain

Re: Doc modding Marantz imperial 7

Unread post by karatestu » Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:00 pm

Daniel Quinn wrote:
Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:55 pm
I changed it for white to blend in.
Good idea.

Another idea was to have thick underlay fitted when i get a new carpet later on this year. Cut channels out of the underlay and there will be no bumps.

I just need to remember not to run the send and returns right next to each other. That will increase capacitance and risk a thunder bolt from you know who.
Naim, Linn & Harbeth fanboy

User avatar
karatestu
Posts: 1641
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 4:40 pm
Location: North Yorkshire
Great Britain

Re: Doc modding Marantz imperial 7

Unread post by karatestu » Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:03 pm

Ithilstone wrote:
Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:59 pm
karatestu wrote:
Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:51 pm
Yes they are LS6 and black
Just get sleeving in any colour you like from aliexpress
Thanks Tomasz. Never bought owt from aliexpress.

Whilst i am at it i could always add a faraday cage as well like TSCS.
Naim, Linn & Harbeth fanboy

User avatar
Ithilstone
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:54 am
Swaziland

Re: Doc modding Marantz imperial 7

Unread post by Ithilstone » Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:05 pm

Latteman wrote:
Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:50 pm
I added the speaker connection to the base of my cubes- this helps with the inflexible Nva cable especially close to walls and also lets it hang behind the support almost hidden- if yours are floor based then all connections in at the base and cables run along the floor???
Yeap LS5 and 6 ( also TSCS) are very inflexible - but it would not be a problem to fit Z plug at 90 deg ( or 45 ) - I was actually discussing it with Doc - he said no one ever requested it - but it is very simple with newly build cables - and a bit tricky with existing cables ( also would mean losing an inch each side for re-termination)
Nothing to see here...

User avatar
Ithilstone
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:54 am
Swaziland

Re: Doc modding Marantz imperial 7

Unread post by Ithilstone » Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:10 pm

karatestu wrote:
Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:03 pm

Whilst i am at it i could always add a faraday cage as well like TSCS.
Also very easily done ;] a bit more pricey though
and silver faraday cage is actually added on top of regular black sleeving on TSCS so no need to remove it from LS6 just add another layer on top.

not sure it it will let cables blend in thought - I always thought TSCS being on a blingy side :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Nothing to see here...

Post Reply