Upgrade your MK2 A60 / A70 / A80


User avatar
CN211276
Posts: 3430
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:29 am
Location: Cardiff
Wales

Re: Upgrade your MK2 A60 / A70 / A80

Unread post by CN211276 » Fri Dec 27, 2019 12:21 pm

The shipping instructions have arrived. I have the original packaging. One of the boxes is a bit bigger than the other because it also contained a P50SA.

When my P90 SA was upgraded I substituted my P20 to the main system with good results. I intend to do the same with the A20. Will there be any issues apart from lower volume driving Cube 1s through TSCS?
Thanks
I set a course just east of Lyra
And northwest of Pegasus
Flew into the light of Deneb
Sailed across the Milky Way

Sonore microRendu/MCRU PS, AQ JB, i Purifier 3, AQ Carbon, Chord Mscaler-Qutest/MCRU PS, Geistnote Apogee, NVA BMU, DC Blocker, P90SA, A80sMk3, Cat 8 ethernet, Phono 1, SSP Mk 2, TSCS, TIS mk2, Cube 1s, Atacama stands, Rega Planar 3, Denon DL-110, Grado SR 325e.

Second system
Chord Mojo (also HP amp), NVA P20, A20, Cubettes, SSC, LS3.

Out
Oppo PM3, AQ Dragonfly Red.

R.I.P. Doc

User avatar
savvypaul
Posts: 4195
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 7:14 pm
Location: Durham
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: Upgrade your MK2 A60 / A70 / A80

Unread post by savvypaul » Fri Dec 27, 2019 12:47 pm

CN211276 wrote:
Fri Dec 27, 2019 12:21 pm
When my P90 SA was upgraded I substituted my P20 to the main system with good results. I intend to do the same with the A20. Will there be any issues apart from lower volume driving Cube 1s through TSCS?
Thanks
It should be fine. Lower volume, as you say, but the Cubes are a very easy load due to one component crossover design. Check temperature of A20 (bottom of case) now and then, to be 100% safe.

User avatar
CN211276
Posts: 3430
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:29 am
Location: Cardiff
Wales

Re: Upgrade your MK2 A60 / A70 / A80

Unread post by CN211276 » Fri Dec 27, 2019 12:50 pm

savvypaul wrote:
Fri Dec 27, 2019 12:47 pm
CN211276 wrote:
Fri Dec 27, 2019 12:21 pm
When my P90 SA was upgraded I substituted my P20 to the main system with good results. I intend to do the same with the A20. Will there be any issues apart from lower volume driving Cube 1s through TSCS?
Thanks
It should be fine. Lower volume, as you say, but the Cubes are a very easy load due to one component crossover design. Check temperature of A20 (bottom of case) now and then, to be 100% safe.
Thanks, thought it would be ok. Will be playing less metal :lol:
I set a course just east of Lyra
And northwest of Pegasus
Flew into the light of Deneb
Sailed across the Milky Way

Sonore microRendu/MCRU PS, AQ JB, i Purifier 3, AQ Carbon, Chord Mscaler-Qutest/MCRU PS, Geistnote Apogee, NVA BMU, DC Blocker, P90SA, A80sMk3, Cat 8 ethernet, Phono 1, SSP Mk 2, TSCS, TIS mk2, Cube 1s, Atacama stands, Rega Planar 3, Denon DL-110, Grado SR 325e.

Second system
Chord Mojo (also HP amp), NVA P20, A20, Cubettes, SSC, LS3.

Out
Oppo PM3, AQ Dragonfly Red.

R.I.P. Doc

User avatar
CN211276
Posts: 3430
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:29 am
Location: Cardiff
Wales

Re: Upgrade your MK2 A60 / A70 / A80

Unread post by CN211276 » Tue Jan 21, 2020 5:01 pm

The upgraded A80s arrived back today. Not much time to listen, but iitial impressions are favourable. :character-beavisbutthead: Will review after some extended listening. They are completely silent, but the red light is not illuminated on one.
I set a course just east of Lyra
And northwest of Pegasus
Flew into the light of Deneb
Sailed across the Milky Way

Sonore microRendu/MCRU PS, AQ JB, i Purifier 3, AQ Carbon, Chord Mscaler-Qutest/MCRU PS, Geistnote Apogee, NVA BMU, DC Blocker, P90SA, A80sMk3, Cat 8 ethernet, Phono 1, SSP Mk 2, TSCS, TIS mk2, Cube 1s, Atacama stands, Rega Planar 3, Denon DL-110, Grado SR 325e.

Second system
Chord Mojo (also HP amp), NVA P20, A20, Cubettes, SSC, LS3.

Out
Oppo PM3, AQ Dragonfly Red.

R.I.P. Doc

User avatar
savvypaul
Posts: 4195
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 7:14 pm
Location: Durham
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: Upgrade your MK2 A60 / A70 / A80

Unread post by savvypaul » Tue Jan 21, 2020 6:25 pm

CN211276 wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 5:01 pm
The upgraded A80s arrived back today. Not much time to listen, but iitial impressions are favourable. :character-beavisbutthead: Will review after some extended listening. They are completely silent, but the red light is not illuminated on one.
Hi, CN,

Good to hear that they are sounding well. The capacitors will fully run in over a couple of hundred hours, in my experience.

QC check ticked both LEDs working on test, so LED failed after leaving here. I'll check possible causes with Tomasz, later in the week, and get in touch by PM.

Thanks for letting me know. Look forward to your full report.

Warm regards,

Paul

User avatar
savvypaul
Posts: 4195
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 7:14 pm
Location: Durham
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: Upgrade your MK2 A60 / A70 / A80

Unread post by savvypaul » Thu Jan 23, 2020 1:14 pm

savvypaul wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 6:25 pm
CN211276 wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 5:01 pm
The upgraded A80s arrived back today. Not much time to listen, but iitial impressions are favourable. :character-beavisbutthead: Will review after some extended listening. They are completely silent, but the red light is not illuminated on one.
Hi, CN,

Good to hear that they are sounding well. The capacitors will fully run in over a couple of hundred hours, in my experience.

QC check ticked both LEDs working on test, so LED failed after leaving here. I'll check possible causes with Tomasz, later in the week, and get in touch by PM.

Thanks for letting me know. Look forward to your full report.

Warm regards,

Paul
PM sent

User avatar
CN211276
Posts: 3430
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:29 am
Location: Cardiff
Wales

Re: Upgrade your MK2 A60 / A70 / A80

Unread post by CN211276 » Thu Jan 23, 2020 5:29 pm

savvypaul wrote:
Thu Jan 23, 2020 1:14 pm
savvypaul wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 6:25 pm
CN211276 wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 5:01 pm
The upgraded A80s arrived back today. Not much time to listen, but iitial impressions are favourable. :character-beavisbutthead: Will review after some extended listening. They are completely silent, but the red light is not illuminated on one.
Hi, CN,

Good to hear that they are sounding well. The capacitors will fully run in over a couple of hundred hours, in my experience.

QC check ticked both LEDs working on test, so LED failed after leaving here. I'll check possible causes with Tomasz, later in the week, and get in touch by PM.

Thanks for letting me know. Look forward to your full report.

Warm regards,

Paul
PM sent
Reply sent.
I set a course just east of Lyra
And northwest of Pegasus
Flew into the light of Deneb
Sailed across the Milky Way

Sonore microRendu/MCRU PS, AQ JB, i Purifier 3, AQ Carbon, Chord Mscaler-Qutest/MCRU PS, Geistnote Apogee, NVA BMU, DC Blocker, P90SA, A80sMk3, Cat 8 ethernet, Phono 1, SSP Mk 2, TSCS, TIS mk2, Cube 1s, Atacama stands, Rega Planar 3, Denon DL-110, Grado SR 325e.

Second system
Chord Mojo (also HP amp), NVA P20, A20, Cubettes, SSC, LS3.

Out
Oppo PM3, AQ Dragonfly Red.

R.I.P. Doc

Post Reply