Panzerholz, magic or myth.

All general audio posts go here.
Daniel Quinn

Panzerholz, magic or myth.

Unread post by Daniel Quinn »

I am always on the look out for ways to improve my hifi. Unfortunately experience and the level of quality ive reached, means improvements are few and far between.

Panzerholz is simply stated to be the material for your plinth. Is the any substance to this or is it simply collective myth.

I currently don't have a view anybody who deos?

valvesRus
Great Britain

Re: Panzerholz, magic or myth.

Unread post by valvesRus »

Seems that Panzerholz is basically layered birch impregnated with phenolic resin, an engineered wood.

As baltic birch ply is supposed to be good for plinths (constrained layer damping ?) then Panzerholz may also be. I have no personal experience of it.

I found a forum that discussed it's use in audio, what I read seemed interesting, so see what you think.

https://www.whatsbestforum.com/threads/ ... ems.29360/

29mile

Unread post by 29mile »

I posted this in June

I stumbled across a few large blocks of panzerholz ( engineered beech/birch plywood ) I got many years ago for an audio project. At the time it was to build a composite ( with aluminium / acrylic ) turntable plinth and for armboards for my Lenco. However since then I have noticed several audio companies like Clearaudio ( in turntables ) Audio Note ( pcb’s? ) & Kaiser ( speakers ) who have used it in their product lines.

I was maybe considering a DIY set of Cubes dependent on how much I have and how easy the blocks are to machine ( it machines apparently similar to aluminium ) . Anybody with any experience of using Panzerholz in a project ?

29mile

Unread post by 29mile »

https://www.kaiser-acoustics.com/en/spe ... hiara.html

Here are some speakers in Panzerholz.
I suspect it has the same effect of one of Doc's speaker mods ( used by Joe Ackroyd ) - using steel plates to line speaker cabinets to improve rigidity.