Metrum onyx DAC and NVA amps

All things NVA
User avatar
Fretless
Posts: 3937
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 12:15 pm
Location: Somewhere in Holland
Netherlands

Re: Metrum onyx DAC and NVA amps

Unread post by Fretless » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:24 pm

Very strange. That a DAC can blow an amp when no P50 is there to limit the input voltage, I can follow. But the volume resistor ought to protect the power amps.

If it is one of the 2 digital sources, he could try unplugging one or the other from the DAC see if the problem is associated with a specific device.

I see that the Sotm uses only USB output - these connections are known to be electrically 'noisy'. He could try putting an Audioquest Jitterbug filter in the signal chain.
Main: NVA: P50sa - SSP - A40 - LS6 - Cube3
Digits: RPi 2B/Allo DigiOne/Volumio/Tomanek ULPS/AQ Jitterbug
DAC: Metrum Acoustics Musette CD Transport: Cambridge CXC
Headphones: AQ NightHawk & NightOwl Amp: Schiit Magni-3
DAC: Cambridge DacMagic Plus + Sbooster LPSU

User avatar
Fretless
Posts: 3937
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 12:15 pm
Location: Somewhere in Holland
Netherlands

Re: Metrum onyx DAC and NVA amps

Unread post by Fretless » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:26 pm

I don't see either how digital 'noise', even if if crossed into the analogue output signal, could blow an amp.
Main: NVA: P50sa - SSP - A40 - LS6 - Cube3
Digits: RPi 2B/Allo DigiOne/Volumio/Tomanek ULPS/AQ Jitterbug
DAC: Metrum Acoustics Musette CD Transport: Cambridge CXC
Headphones: AQ NightHawk & NightOwl Amp: Schiit Magni-3
DAC: Cambridge DacMagic Plus + Sbooster LPSU

User avatar
Dr Bunsen Honeydew
Posts: 29694
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:26 pm
Location: Muppet Labs
Great Britain

Re: Metrum onyx DAC and NVA amps

Unread post by Dr Bunsen Honeydew » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:27 pm

It is very possible for the DAC problem to bypass the preamp. The pre-amp protects if it is not volume dependent as seems to be happening, but the higher the volume goes the more open it becomes to pass something nasty, and this problem only happens with the volume up.

User avatar
CN211276
Posts: 1795
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:29 am
Location: Cardiff
Wales

Re: Metrum onyx DAC and NVA amps

Unread post by CN211276 » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:30 pm

Dr Bunsen Honeydew wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:14 pm
The amps are working perfectly at low to medium volume, as soon as he gives it some welly the amps are going pop. Four times now and two different sets of amplifiers A100s and A80s.
Could the output voltage of his DAC be too high?
I set a course just east of Lyra
And northwest of Pegasus
Flew into the light of Deneb
Sailed across the Milky Way

NVA BMU, Sonore microRendu/McRU PS, AQ J-bug, Wirewold Ultraviolet, Chord Qutest, NVA P90SA, NVA A80sMk2, NVA Cube 1s, NVA TSCS, NVA TIS mk2. Rega Planar 3, Denon DL-110, NVA Phono 1, NVA SSP Mk2, Grado SR 325e, headphones, Chord Mojo.

Second system
Arcam Miniblink Bluetooth DAC, Marantz pm 5004, Wharfdale Diamond 121, NVA LS2.

Out and about
Oppo PM3, Audioquest Dragonfly Red.

User avatar
Dr Bunsen Honeydew
Posts: 29694
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:26 pm
Location: Muppet Labs
Great Britain

Re: Metrum onyx DAC and NVA amps

Unread post by Dr Bunsen Honeydew » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:35 pm

Fretless wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:26 pm
I don't see either how digital 'noise', even if if crossed into the analogue output signal, could blow an amp.
I can assure it has and does happen, but mostly as you said if the volume is a digital control in the DAC, those have given spurious signals or pulses that have taken out amps and not just NVA. It is why my recommendation is always use a pre-amp even if a simple pot passive, BUT there are many NVA systems out there working perfectly well with digital volume control outputs, it seems to only happen under a fault condition.

We expect only to get analogue signals out of a DAC, but faulty, even intermittent fault conditions can throw something nasty out, even a DC pulse, but mostly what resembles square waves.

User avatar
savvypaul
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 7:14 pm
Location: Durham
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: Metrum onyx DAC and NVA amps

Unread post by savvypaul » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:37 pm

CN211276 wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:30 pm
Dr Bunsen Honeydew wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:14 pm
The amps are working perfectly at low to medium volume, as soon as he gives it some welly the amps are going pop. Four times now and two different sets of amplifiers A100s and A80s.
Could the output voltage of his DAC be too high?
The Onyx is fixed output - 2v.
"The one who would whistle to Throbbing Gristle through harsh times in Umberstone Covert."

HiFi Foo Fight Blog
NVA BMU / WTL Versalex / Transfiguration Axia /NVA Phono2 w/ 2nd PSU / GSP Revelation C / Vortexbox Appliance NAS Server / Sonore microRendu USB streamer w/ LPSU / Chord 2Qute USB dac / NVA P90sa / NVA A80MK2 (bass) / NVA A70 MK2 (tweeters) / NVA Cube 1 / NVA TIS MK1 / NVA SSPMK2 / NVA LS6 / NVA AP10H (& 1x additional PS) / Audeze LCD-2

User avatar
Fretless
Posts: 3937
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 12:15 pm
Location: Somewhere in Holland
Netherlands

Re: Metrum onyx DAC and NVA amps

Unread post by Fretless » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:38 pm

Output impedance for the Onyx is 100 Ohm, voltage is fixed.

XLR output will be higher than RCA, I think.

The variable output Jade in the same series outputs up to 3V on RCA and 6V with XLR.
Main: NVA: P50sa - SSP - A40 - LS6 - Cube3
Digits: RPi 2B/Allo DigiOne/Volumio/Tomanek ULPS/AQ Jitterbug
DAC: Metrum Acoustics Musette CD Transport: Cambridge CXC
Headphones: AQ NightHawk & NightOwl Amp: Schiit Magni-3
DAC: Cambridge DacMagic Plus + Sbooster LPSU

User avatar
Dr Bunsen Honeydew
Posts: 29694
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:26 pm
Location: Muppet Labs
Great Britain

Re: Metrum onyx DAC and NVA amps

Unread post by Dr Bunsen Honeydew » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:42 pm

CN211276 wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:30 pm
Dr Bunsen Honeydew wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:14 pm
The amps are working perfectly at low to medium volume, as soon as he gives it some welly the amps are going pop. Four times now and two different sets of amplifiers A100s and A80s.
Could the output voltage of his DAC be too high?
As said here others are using the Metrum with no problem.

User avatar
Fretless
Posts: 3937
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 12:15 pm
Location: Somewhere in Holland
Netherlands

Re: Metrum onyx DAC and NVA amps

Unread post by Fretless » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:44 pm

Metrum's chief, Cees Ruijtenberg, is very 'hands on' and might be interested to help with this.

Metrum can be contacted at: info@metrumacoustics.com

I've found them to be very quick and friendly with queries.
Main: NVA: P50sa - SSP - A40 - LS6 - Cube3
Digits: RPi 2B/Allo DigiOne/Volumio/Tomanek ULPS/AQ Jitterbug
DAC: Metrum Acoustics Musette CD Transport: Cambridge CXC
Headphones: AQ NightHawk & NightOwl Amp: Schiit Magni-3
DAC: Cambridge DacMagic Plus + Sbooster LPSU

User avatar
Dr Bunsen Honeydew
Posts: 29694
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:26 pm
Location: Muppet Labs
Great Britain

Re: Metrum onyx DAC and NVA amps

Unread post by Dr Bunsen Honeydew » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:48 pm

The Metrum is being sent back for checking.

Post Reply