Speaker repair help!

A place for DIY project discussions.
Jonty2547
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Speaker repair help!

Unread post by Jonty2547 »

I picked up a pair of B&O Beovox S45-2 speakers today for the eye watering sum of £10.
They’re a little bit scratched but otherwise look decent enough and should clean up fairly well. The one that does work sounds to my ears pretty damn good.
The reason they’re so cheap was the bass driver in one isn’t working (although it does when the source is added direct the the speaker) so i guess the fault lays within the cross over?
Is it just a case of replacing the caps?
I have zero knowledge whatsoever of speaker repair in any shape or form, so as the thread title says…
Help!

Pics of speakers and the Doc baiting crossover..

TT- Thorens TD160B MKII with SME 3009, SL1210 and PL-71. Amps-NVA P50sa/A40's & Phono 1. CDP- Sony X555ES. Speakers-B&W 705 with LS1.
Headphone system Bushmaster II, Capella amp, Pi 3B+ with Hifiberry Digi+ Pro & Nighthawk cans.

_D_S_J_R_
Wales

Re: Speaker repair help!

Unread post by _D_S_J_R_ »

'Beopeople' are quite ok with replacing caps and so on, but I don't remember this speaker as ever being anything special as B&O were on the 'phase compensation' trip at the time and some of their three ways had the mid driver doing all manner of terrible things to 'fix' a problem that doesn't really exist once you get a few feet from the speaker, or move up and down from them... The caps B&O used aren't the best and it's usual to replace them, judging by the B&O forums I occasionally visit.

If the bass drivers end up working, I'd say this is one to try some Doc-mods on. Don't knock me, but a 30uF cap on the mid and a1 or 2uF on the tweeter, plus dope on the bass driver may be the start of something very interesting and modern amps should cope with any odd loading.
Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way...The time has gone, The song is over, Thought I'd something more to say...