Rega EL8 frankensteiners

A place for DIY project discussions.
EMG Slave
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Rega EL8 frankensteiners

Unread post by EMG Slave »

Hi, newbie here and have just (nearly) finished my first project. been lurking around here awhile and I came across a set of EL8's in terrible condition, both drivers missing from one, no foam covers, spikes gone, so I took a punt for £20, was told by the guy I would never be able to source anything that would fit as he had tried for years with no luck, so, I set to work, after contacting Lintone Audio I was told they would contact me when they found anything, that was over a year ago, so, google was my only friend, after intense searching I found Amazon had both the genuine Rega woofer/mid(£46), and the zzr tweeter(£26) from the current models!!, there were no sizes stated for the tweeter, but it 'looked' right, so I ordered and crossed my fingers, delivery in 3 days, woofer perfect fit although the centre plug thing was a little longer but the tweeter fitted perfectly, 20 mins later, all wired up and ready to rock although was expecting a dogs dinner soundwise, but, I couldnt be more happy, they are improving all the time, I am a musician so maybe used to a live sound, which to be frank, to my ears is always wanting, but, crank these babys up with some well recorded sound food and,,well, I havnt got 'golden ears' but the instruments seems full, the bass is a little wobbly sometimes but these are my first semi decent pair, my last ones being a mad set of Acoustic research spirit jobbies with a mind of their own!!, wouldnt class myself as a critical listener striving for absolute reality, but I've been in many a real room, with a real band and these arnt that bad at all, still cant find the spikes for them , the foam covers I may have to get made , but all in all a splendid first toe in the water and although worth very little I am very fond of them, so off I ride into the sunset with Kraftwerk, the Black Crow